Who We Are at Teach Nomadic
At teachnomadic.com, we are committed to maintaining the trust and confidence of all visitors to our website. In particular, we want you to know that teachnomadic.com is not in the business of selling, renting or trading email lists with other companies and businesses for marketing purposes.
We take your privacy seriously and take measures to provide all visitors and users of teachnomadic.com with a safe and secure environment.
What Data We Collect and Why We Collect It
We collect your name and address (permanent or current) to display you accurately on our Teacher Map. This data can be entered with any value you would like and does not have to be accurate. It can also be completely hidden at all times from other members within the Manage Account page.
teachnomadic.com may set and access teachnomadic.com cookies on your computer. Cookies are used to provide our system with the basic information to provide the services you are requesting. Cookies can be cleared at any time from your internet browser settings.
If you leave a comment on our site you may opt-in to saving your name, email address and website in cookies. These are for your convenience so that you do not have to fill in your details again when you leave another comment. These cookies will last for one year.
If you have an account and you log in to this site, we will set a temporary cookie to determine if your browser accepts cookies. This cookie contains no personal data and is discarded when you close your browser.
When you log in, we will also set up several cookies to save your login information and your screen display choices. Login cookies last for two days, and screen options cookies last for a year. If you select “Remember Me”, your login will persist for two weeks. If you log out of your account, the login cookies will be removed.
If you edit or publish an article, an additional cookie will be saved in your browser. This cookie includes no personal data and simply indicates the post ID of the article you just edited. It expires after 1 day.
When someone visits teachnomadic.com we use a third-party service, Google Analytics, to collect standard internet log information and details of visitor behavior patterns. We do this to track things such as the number of visitors to the various parts of the site and interactions with the site. This information is processed in a way which does not identify anyone. We do not make, and do not allow Google to make, any attempt to find out the identities of visitors to our website.
How Long We Retain Your Data
If you leave a comment, the comment and its metadata are retained indefinitely. This is so we can recognize and approve any follow-up comments automatically instead of holding them in a moderation queue.
For users that register on our website (if any), we also store the personal information they provide in their user profile. All users can see, edit, or delete their personal information at any time (except they cannot change their username). Website administrators can also see and edit that information.
When someone visits teachnomadic.com, there may be an ability to submit comments on particular articles or pages. When comments are submitted, you are entitled to use aliases or information that completely hides your identity. When a comment is submitted, the relevant details (name, email, website) that you provide are stored. These details are stored so that we can display your comment back to you, and to anyone viewing the comment sections on the site. We do not verify information entered nor do we require verification. Visitor comments may be checked through an automated spam detection service.
If you upload images to the website, you should avoid uploading images with embedded location data (EXIF GPS) included. Visitors to the website can download and extract any location data from images on the website.
As part of the registration process for our e-newsletter, we collect personal information. We use that information for a couple of reasons: to tell you about stuff you’ve asked us to tell you about; to contact you if we need to obtain or provide additional information; to check our records are right and to check every now and then that you’re happy and satisfied. We do not rent or trade email lists with other organizations, businesses or individuals.
We use a third-party provider, MailChimp to deliver our newsletter. We gather statistics around email opening and clicks using industry standard technologies to help us monitor and improve our e-newsletter. For more information, please see MailChimp privacy notice. You can unsubscribe to general mailings at any time of the day or night by clicking the unsubscribe link at the bottom of any of our emails.
There may be some circumstances where your IP address, geographic location, and other browser-related details may be shared with third-party companies. We may share your above-mentioned data with following third-party companies from time to time (MailChimp and Membership Works).
Akismet: We collect information about visitors who comment on Sites that use our Akismet anti-spam service. The information we collect depends on how the User sets up Akismet for the Site, but typically includes the commenter’s IP address, user agent, referrer, and Site URL (along with other information directly provided by the commenter such as their name, username, email address, and the comment itself).
Access to Your Personal Information
You are entitled to view, amend, or delete the personal information that we hold. Email your request to our data protection officer Jason at firstname.lastname@example.org and we will work with you to remove any of your personal data we may have. If you have an account on this site, or have left comments, you can request to receive an exported file of the personal data we hold about you, including any data you have provided to us. You can also request that we erase any personal data we hold about you. This does not include any data we are obliged to keep for administrative, legal, or security purposes. You can always cancel your member account at any time from within the Manage Account page by clicking ‘Upgrade’ and ‘Cancel’.
Membership Works Plugin Policies
Erasing Personal Data – Right To Be Forgotten
The General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) gives members the right to request the erasure of their personal data from your membership database for specific reasons. We’ve developed a Anonymize/Erase Personal Data feature to help organizations comply with such requests.
When you anonymize an account, we will:
- Erase all fields in the account and set the Account Name field to “Anonymized”
- Erase all images uploaded for the account
- Erase all secondary contacts for the account
- Erase fields/questions in all linked event/form transactions and set the name of of the registration/checkout to “Anonymized”
- Erase all the Timeline notes, conversations, scheduled/reminder emails, renewal notices, contact change entries
- Erase all messages sent to the member
- Erase all recommendations created/received by the member
- Remove the email address for the member from your connected MailChimp lists
The following information will be retained which provides you with financial records for accounting purposes without retaining any personal information:
Timeline join date, billing updated, event/form checkout, invoices, payment entries
Tickets/items, amounts, credit card transaction ID in linked event/form transactions
Do note that if you had entered any personal information in the notes within the payment entries, or with any of the other retained Timeline entries, you will need to erase them manually as we cannot identify such data automatically.
Personal Data Stored With Third Parties
MembershipWorks will remove the email address from MailChimp on any connected lists, but cannot erase personal data from your payment gateway (Stripe, Paypal, Authorize.net, Braintree), accounting software (QuickBooks/Xero), or forums (Website Toolbox). Please request data controller remove all data from third parties by emailing jason[at]teachnomadic.com.
Anonymization Vs. Simply Deleting Account
Simply deleting an account does not erase personal data that is stored with linked event or form transactions. If you plan on deleting your account anyway , request that we anonymize an account first before deleting it.